Arctic Cat Prowler Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All new to both the board and the SXS club
I have a 2016 HDX700 Hunter been riding as much as i can but now that the hotter weather is here i've been thinking of adding a manual switch where i can have the fan run longer and/or more often.
Being a mechanic by trade i know heat is a killer to alot of engines and elect items by adding a wire to power the fan to run but not cutting the wire so the fan will still come on at normal on and off times.
Am i just over thinking this and should leave well enough alone Arctic Cat knows best or does this sound like a worth while idea?
Thanks for any input

·
Registered
710 Posts
Welcome to the forum! I've seen several by-pass kits on the web, but they seem to be a waste of money for a person with skills! I installed a temp gauge on mine, and riding in 90+ weather does make it run hotter, but still within limits. By saying it runs hotter, I mean the fan cycles more frequently! The highest temp I've seen has been 190, fan cycles and the temp drops back to 165/170. I'd recommend a temp gauge before resorting to a by-pass switch.

Attachments

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Thank you dpdavidson02 for your response mine does have a temp gauge as per factory in the display. i agree with you 100% it does cycle on more in hotter weather and/or on harder longer pulls. I've seen mine as hot as 213 and the fan was on it ran till it got back down to 175 or so.
If my fan is running when i come to a stop i will not shut it off till it stops running. After taking a break and starting it back up of course the temp is back up and the fan starts up.
Again i'm sure it is all within specs i just thought it would be a "better" idea to have it come on sooner and run longer. just my thoughts
Thanks

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·